Golf Notes 1/12/2014 – 7/12/2014


Monday the Veterans played a stableford competition.  The winner with 40 pts was V. Riley, runner up ocb was E. Newlove  from B. Jones with 39 pts.  The run down went to H. Hei 38 pts, followed by M. Hassan, K. Rhodes, A. Featherstone & R. Tomlinson 37 pts , C. VanDaalen, K. Reinholdsson, B. Mahoney & P. Sheffield 36 pts and K. Cook, B. Cunningham, M. Maynard & A. Burns 34 pts.  The pin shots were received by H. Hai on 4/13 while 8/17 was received by B. Cunningham & J. Antcliff.  The Encouragement Award was received by F. Brophy while the Membership Draw went to M. Hassan.


Wednesday was the 2nd round of Championships sponsored by Simons Hotel playing a stroke 10-18 + 1, 5 & 6.  The winner was N. Hooke ocb from runner up M. Hassan, G. Eviston & E. Newlove with 46 net.  The rundown continued with J. Potter, K. Rhodes & J. Gillett 47 net, followed by W. Gnech, G. Parker & F. Johnson 48 net and W. Hall 49 net.   The A Grade winner was W. Gnech ocb 96net, B. Grade winner F. Johnson 93 net and C. Grade winner J. Gillett 95 net.  The best gross and Champion for 2014 was J. Browning with 103 off the stick. Arthur Hertweck’s Ham winner for the year was J. Gillett. Thanks to the Dugandan Hotel for their sponsorship of the Dice, this week won by W. Maudsley.   This week will be sponsored by the Aratula Hotel playing a stableford 10-18 + 1, 5 & 6. Next week will be sponsored by B. Brown playing a stableford 1-9 + 10, 14 & 15.

Friendly Friday

Friendly Friday’s had 11 players tee off playing a stableford back 9 competition. The winner was G. Eviston with 22 pts, runner up ocb was W. Martin from V. Riley with  21 pts, followed by K. Reinholdsson & T. Alchin 20 pts and R. Brooks 18 pts.    The nearest the pin was received by S. Fahey. Summer times are now in so be there 2.45 for a tee off at 3 pm.  See you all there……………….


Saturday was sponsored by Prosteam playing a stroke competition.    The A. Grade winner was J. Browning 67 net, B. Grade winner was P. Leath 68 net while C. Grade winner was M. Dickson 67 net, and the ladies winner was L. Edwards 69 net.  The rundown went to W. Gnech 68 net, W. Maudsley 69 net, M. O’Reilly & A. Faux 70 net followed M. Murray, A. Heit, G. Parker, P. Manitta, A. Featherstone, D. Mortimer, V. Riley & A. Stick 71 net and V. Christensen, R. Eacott & B. Gotke 72 net.  Pin Shots were on all holes and received by A/ Heit on 1/10, 2/11 T. Alchin, 3/12 B. Freiberg, W. Jackson & D. Wall recieved 4/13, 5/14 & 6/15 were received by W. Maudsley, A. Bennett received 7/16  while 8/17 was received by V. Christensen & G. Buganey while 9/18 was received by R. Cuneo.  The pro pin on the 4th hole is sponsored by Drummond Golf.  The pro pin on the 17th is sponsored by Sugarloaf Bakery and currently held by V. Christensen with 47cm.   This week is sponsored by J. McGrath, J. Handley, R. Eacott & P. King playing a stableford competition.  There will be a Ham on offer for the Mens A. B. & C. Grades + the Ladies winners.  Pinshots will be on all holes with Christmas Cakes as the prizes.   This will be the Monthly Mug Playoff for the year.  If you have won a monthly mug during the year you will be in the playoff.  Next week will be the Closing Day sponsored by P. Ward & F. & L. Johnson.


This week we have a small social club teeing off at 7.30 am.  Social Players will be allowed to play after they have finished.   Ring the club for further details.

Don’t forget the AGM to be held on Wednesday at 7.30 pm.