Golf Notes 8/8/16-14/8/16


Monday the Veterans played a stableford competition.  The winner was D Beasley with 39 pts, runner up C Shannon ocb from K Rhodes with 38 pts.  The rundown went to W Martin 37 pts, J Shine, R Baker, R Fitzgerald & A Jackson 35 pts, followed by D Yeates, T Lynch, L Hooke & M Hassan 34 pts.   The Encouragement Award was received by K Sorenson.


Wednesday will be a stableford for L Hookes’ Trophy.  Next week will be a stableford competition for a club trophy.


Wednesday was sponsored by D Woolgar playing the Wally Woolgar Trophy, playing a stableford 10-18 + 1, 5 & 6.  The winner was W Martin ocb with 26 pts, runner up was M McGarrity 29 pts. The run down went to M O’Reilly 26 pts, V Christensen & S Edwards 25 pts, followed by R Stinson, R Cuneo & B Brown 24 pts.  Pin shots were received by M Crowther on 13, while G Parker received 18.  The dice winner was M Maudsley sponsored by Dugandan Hotel.  This week will be the Glenn Sippel Memorial playing a stroke 1-9 + 10, 14 & 15.  Next week will be sponsored by D Webster playing a stroke 10-18 + 1, 5 & 6.

Friendly Fridays’

Friendly Fridays’ played a stableford back 9 competition.  The winner was K Reinholdsson with 21 pts, runner up P King ocb from C Greet, A Leary & R Williams with 20 pts.  The run down continued with M Crowther & S O’Connell 19 pts, followed by E Warland, C Shannon, T Alchin, D Ryan, S Fahey, P Cooper & R Brooks 18 pts.  The pinshot was received by D Ryan.  The Encouragement Award went to S Edwards.  We are now teeing off at 3pm.


Saturday was the 1st round of the Darvall Cup sponsored by S & L Edwards playing a stroke/monthly medal competition. The winner & Monthly Medal winner was J Buganey with 67 net, runner up I Browning 70 net.   The run down went to J Handley, R Brooks, N Hooke, J Gillett, J Browning & M O’Reilly 71 net, followed by P King, B Freiberg, M Hassan 72 net and S O’Connell & A Smith 73 net. The ladies winner was M Tress 72 net, runner up J Edwards 73 net.   Pinshots were received by K Turner & C Moncada on 3/12, V Christensen & A Leary on 4/13, 8/17 was received by T Lynch & J Edwards while T Alchin & M Tress received 9/18.   The Pro Pin on 4 sponsored by Drummond Golf is currently held by R Brooks with 3.27m.  The Pro Pin on 17 is sponsored by Sugarloaf Bakery.  This week will be sponsored by Beaudesert Softdrinks playing a stableford competition.  The Boonah Rotary Clubs Open Day is on the 27th.   Timesheets are out now.


Sunday was the 2nd round of the Darvall Cup sponsored by T & M Weatherhead.  The winner was G Philp with 66 net, runner up J Browning ocb from S O’Connell with 70 net.  The run down continued with S Francis 72 net, K Rhodes 73 net followed by M Gnech, V Christensen, S Edwards & B May 74 net and T Alchin, C Shannon & D Ryan 75 net.  The ladies winner was A Leary with 71 net, runner up L Edwards 73 net. Pinshots were received by J Buganey & A Brown on 4/13, Z Eviston & G Philp received 8/17 while J Browning received 9/18.  The NAGA’s were received by B Brown & J McAntee.  The Darvall Cup winner for 2016 is J Browning.  There was a tie for the ladies so a play off will be on Saturday between G Buganey & K Cook.

We have a Social Club teeing off at 7.30 am.  Social players will be able to tee off after they have finished their round.  Ring the club for further details.

Jeff Browning winner of the Darvall Cup with Neil Hooke from Darvalls
Jeff Browning winner of the Darvall Cup with Neil Hooke from Darvalls